Deleting information from your computer is easy if you don’t mind deleting everything. This is not optional unless you are actually preparation on reinstalling windows and starting from scratch!

1. Download a program called Secure Erase from the internet and save it to a floppy disk or CD-R. You may need to unzip the file first.

2. Access BIOS during the boot stage before the computer gets to the OS screen. This can be accomplished by pressing whatever key the computer tells you to when it says “”Press F2 to enter start-up”, for example.

3. Change the boot order so that the computer boots from either the CD drive or floppy drive, depending on which drive you used for your Secure Erase program.

4. Exit BIOS. The DOS prompt should appear once the computer has started up.

5. At the system/DOS prompt type: “hdderase” to start the program. The Secure Erase menu should appear. Decide from Secure Erase or improved Secure Erase if the option appears.

Instructions : Do not do this unless you are totally sure that you want to erase your data. and This will only work on computers built in 2001 or after.

4 Comments

  1. Zeyne Graye says:

    I don’t want to delete ALL data, only documents, pictures, music, videos. How do I do that? The reason I need to restart from scratch is that Easy Transfer imported this “My Documents” data from my old computer in triplicate. Yes, you heard right, but it wasn’t quite everything — some files were only imported in duplicate. No, I have no idea how or why this happened.

  2. Zeyne Graye says:

    I’m repeating this because the reason for the my question is that I’m dealing with VISTA! In XP, I’d STILL have a problem, but at least it would be one I could solve myself. Here’s the repeat query:

    I don’t want to delete ALL data, only documents, pictures, music, videos. How do I do that? The reason I need to restart from scratch is that Easy Transfer imported this “My Documents” data from my old computer in triplicate. Yes, you heard right, but it wasn’t quite everything — some files were only imported in duplicate. No, I have no idea how or why this happened.

    Also, we’re dealing with two user accounts on the Vista computer.

  3. hemant kumar mahto says:

    what happen after delete the data from recycle bin or it is deleting the data

  4. asme says:

    hi
    how i can deleteall datas from my computer free charge?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>