This step-by-step guide presents the safest procedure to be used when you want to restore your iPod to its factory settings.

If you have an iPod, you must have come across at least one of the following problems: your iPod freezes while playing a movie or song, does not respond to any of your commands, or just goes blank and nothing you tried brings it back to life.

If you haven’t experienced any of these problems until now you are a lucky guy/girl and this guide is not for you. You may still hang around though, reading the rest of the article, just in case your iPod will one day decide to show you its ugly face.

Almost all these problems appear because all Apple iPod devices’ firmware. An iPod’s firmware is a layer between its hardware and software which is closely tied to your iPod’s hardware and it basically controls all its basic functions from the moment you power it up. More »

Addressing owners of an iPod nano (5th generation), or iPod shuffle (3rd generation), and users of, iTunes 9, iTunes 8 for Windows, and iTunes 8 for Mac, Apple has posted a short guide on removing the VoiceOver kit from one’s computer.

While introducing its third-generation iPod shuffle last year, Apple revealed that the screen-less player used VoiceOver, a Mac OS X-specific feature, to speak out the names of playlists and songs to the user. “VoiceOver tells you the name of the song and who performs it. It also announces your playlists. So while you’re listening, you can keep running, walking, lifting, or biking,” Apple said.

However, upon setting up their iPod for use with a computer, customers must first download the VoiceOver Kit to their computer. “By downloading VoiceOver Kit to your computer, your iPod will announce the names of your songs, artists, and playlists,” Apple Support document HT3507 reveals. “If you no longer wish to use the VoiceOver feature on your iPod and want to remove the VoiceOver Kit from your computer, follow the steps below,” Apple states. The following steps are then provided for each supported OS. More »

Addressing users of an iPod shuffle (1st and 2nd generation), or iPod shuffle (3rd generation), Apple has updated its Support section with new information on how to update your player’s software.

Apple outlines that it is very important to understand the difference between “update” and “restore.” Failing to do this may result in losing all your songs, or whatever data you have stored on your iPod shuffle. Update does not affect your settings or songs, but only installs the software that controls iPod shuffle.

However, the restore action erases the disk and restores iPod shuffle to its original factory condition. According to the iPod maker, you should use the computer where music is normally synced, if you only need to update iPod shuffle. “Updating on another computer will result in all songs being removed from the iPod shuffle,” the company warns. Additionally, users should make sure to back up the contents of their iPod shuffle. Everything can be synced back to the device, if the items are part of your iTunes Library. More »