Beta 6 continues to be the last fully-fledged Beta Build of Firefox 4.0 offered to early adopters, but testers can now also grab a preview of Firefox 4.0 Beta 7.
Mozilla has essentially made available the Release Candidate of the seventh Beta for Firefox 4.0, a nightly build, served to the Beta community through the browser vendor’s FTP servers.
Almost two months have passed since Mozilla launched the previous Beta, and in the process the Firefox 4.0 development was postponed considerably.
Mozilla highlighted some of the changes that Firefox 4.0 Beta 7 will bring to the table, such as: More »
The fourth Beta development milestone of the next major iteration of Firefox is now available for download.
While Mozilla has yet to announce officially the release of Firefox 4.0 Beta 4, fact is that the bits are already live and up for grabs via the browser vendor’s FTP servers.
Early adopters that have so far test driven previous Firefox 4.0 Beta Builds, but also new testers looking to take the next version of Firefox out for a spin will find the download links at the bottom of this article.
Earlier today Pctipsbox readers have been able to read about Mozilla’s focus on pushing the overhaul of Firefox 4.0’s graphical user interface overhaul one step further.
Essentially, the UI redesign of Firefox 4.0 will continue even after Beta 4 to the upcoming testing release. More »
Last time I installed OS X on my Mac, I did an Archive and Install and selected the “Preserve Users and Network Settings” option. However, people might forget to check if the “preserve users …” option is selected and will end up with a new OS X installation on their Mac but with none of their files. Although you might think that all your data is lost, you could not be more wrong.
Other people may also delete a user account on their Mac and later remember that they had some important files on that user’s home folder. Do you think their data is lost? Think again. You can actually “undelete” a user’s account altogether.
Apple has a number of support documents that explain how you can easily get your data back in case you end up in one of the above mentioned situations and this is how easily it can be done.
You have to remember one thing: if you used the “Delete immediately” option, you will not be able to use the steps below to recover your data. Nevertheless, you can still recover at least some of it if you use a third-party recovery tool.
Restore a user’s account after an Archive and Install (Mac OS X 10.3 to 10.5)
If you are using Mac OS X 10.5 or later, these are the steps Apple says you have to follow to recover your entire Home folder (the one you had before the installation):